Nearly every Wednesday night, a group of us from our youth ministry head out after service for food and fellowship. Tonight, a comment led me to remark that other staff members and I frequently don’t see eye to eye, but more often than not, the issue isn’t a hill I’m willing to die on. That comment (and that conversation) got me thinking.

In essentials, unity, in non-essentials, liberty, and in all things, charity

We may disagree (perhaps frequently), or simply don’t see eye to eye, or don’t quite agree on a variety of points and issues. Maybe it’s youthful exuberance on their part, sometimes we chalk it up to fewer years in ministry, and sometimes I wonder if the problem is with me (which usually serves as a good reminder that I don’t have it all figured out). The point is, whatever disagreements we may have, they are almost always not issues that I’m willing to have a huge argument or debate over. Frankly, it wouldn’t be worthwhile, it wouldn’t be edifying, and probably wouldn’t get us anywhere, not to mention you (and I) don’t want to lose a friend and co-laborer over something that, in the long run, will likely prove insignificant. And, once in a while, you may even learn something, or have your worldview shifted. One of many lessons I’ve learned is that a new perspective can be extremely enlightening.

 

The next time you find yourself in disagreement with someone (inside or outside of the youth ministry you serve in), ask yourself; is this a hill I’m willing to die on? If the answer is no, let it go.

 

 

