This is a bit of a “state of the blog” post, to let you know about an upcoming series here at Ten Years Young that I’m working on. The working title is The Most Important Lessons I’ve Learned, and the purpose is to share just what it sounds like; the most important lessons I’ve learned in my 11+ years in youth ministry. I’ve seen people do well, I’ve seen people come and go, I’ve seen burnout, and I’ve seen failure. My goal is to help you do well and avoid failure and burnout. My hope is that the series will be a blessing to you, because my ultimate goal here at Ten Years Young is not just to give you practical advice; it’s to give you hope, inspiration, and encouragement. I want to help you succeed, and (obviously) avoid failure. I want to be the voice that tells you not to give up when you come home from a youth meeting or event feeling dejected, like a failure, like you’ve blown it. I want to be the one who tells you that you are having an impact, even if you can’t see it right now.

I value the chance to share what I’ve learned, and I appreciate you taking the time to read what I write.

